Aktivita
Against White Feminism

Against White Feminism


18,50 €
Na sklade

An essential, comprehensive account of what white feminism is - and an empowering manifesto for revolution For readers of Reni Eddo-Lodge's Why I'm No Longer Talking to White People About Race, Caroline Criado Perez's Invisible Women and Florence Given's Women Don't Owe You Pretty 'A book to make you stop and think' Mishal Husain, national broadcaster'Necessary, warm-hearted and sharp-eyed... [Zakaria] brings compassion, intelligence, and a steady drumbeat of change to redefining feminism... This book is going to light fires everywhere, so if you are prone to combust, get right the hell out of the way' Lit Hub, Most Anticipated Books of 2021 Feminism is supposed to be the fight for the freedom and equality of women.

And in the past 200 years it has made incredible gains: paving the way for women to advance economically, handing them back control of their own bodies, and advocating for their needs and their experiences. But not for all women. Since its very beginning, mainstream feminism has catered to a particular group of women: middle class, cis-gendered, Western, and above all, white.

And the exclusion of everyone outside this narrow category is not merely an oversight, a coincidence, a slip. It is baked into the way feminism works. This must change.

White supremacy is killing feminism. Until all of us are free and equal in society, none of us are. The power to transform it lies with each one of us.

It starts with understanding how we got here in the first place. Eye-opening, timely and impossible to ignore, Against White Feminism traces the connections between feminism and white supremacy from the earliest stirrings of the women's suffrage movement to the 'fourth wave' we see today, demonstrating how an idea based on equality has been corrupted by prejudice and exploitation from the start. Rafia Zakaria issues a powerful call to arms to every reader to build a new kind of feminism which will light the path to true emancipation for all.


Podrobnosti

Autor Rafia Zakaria
Vydavateľ Penguin Books Ltd
Jazyk anglický
VäzbaHardback
Počet strán208
Formát222 x 144 x 23
Hmotnosť331
EAN9780241446096
Rok vydania2021
Edícia História
Politika

Autor

Rafia Zakaria

Ďalšie knihy autora z oddelenia Knihy v angličtine

Against White Feminism

Against White Feminism

Rafia Zakaria
12,95 €
Na sklade

Podobné knihy

Privacy is Power

Privacy is Power

Carissa Veliz
11,50 €
Momentálne nedostupné
The Art of War

The Art of War

Tzu Sun, Anthony Tucker-Jones
15,50 €
Momentálne nedostupné
Being Heumann

Being Heumann

Judith Heumann, Kristen Joiner
12,95 €
Na sklade
Norse America

Norse America

Gordon (Emeritus Professor and Fellow in Renaissance Studies, University of Leicester) Campbell
25,95 €
Na sklade
Trinity

Trinity

Frank Close
29,95 €
Na sklade
Asias Reckoning

Asias Reckoning

Richard McGregor
12,50 €
Na sklade

Názory čitateľov

Zadajte Váš email
a my Vám budeme zasielať informácie o novinkách a akciách
Generuje redakčný systém BUXUS CMS spoločnosti ui42
X
Nákupný košík
V jednej objednávke nie je možné súčasne kombinovať predobjednávkové a bežné produkty.
Z tohto produktu nie je možné objednať požadovaný počet kusov. Znížte prosím počet kusov.
Tento produkt je momentálne nedostupný.
Produkt bol pridaný do košíka
Produkt bol pridaný do zoznamu vašich rezervácií
Nastal problém pri vkladaní do košíka. Kontaktujte nás prosím.
Dopravu máte zadarmo!
Nakúpte ešte za a dopravu máte zadarmo!