Aktivita
Americanized

Americanized


10,95 €
Na sklade

The hilarious, poignant, and true story of one teens's experience growing up in America as an undocumented immigrant from the Middle East, perfect for fans of Mindy Kaling and Trevor Noah's books.

“Very funny but never flippant, Saedi mixes ‘90s pop culture references, adolescent angst and Iranian history into an intimate, informative narrative that thoroughly defies current divisive view on immigration.”—The New York Times

At thirteen, bright-eyed, straight-A student Sara Saedi uncovered a terrible family secret: she was breaking the law simply by living in the United States. Only two years old when her parents fled Iran, she didn't learn of her undocumented status until her older sister wanted to apply for an after-school job, but couldn't because she didn't have a Social Security number.

Fear of deportation kept Sara up at night, but it didn't keep her from being a teenager. She desperately wanted a green card, along with clear skin, her own car, and a boyfriend.

Americanized follows Sara's progress toward getting her green card, but that's only a portion of her experiences as an Iranian-"American" teenager. From discovering that her parents secretly divorced to facilitate her mother's green card application to learning how to tame her unibrow, Sara pivots gracefully from the terrifying prospect that she might be kicked out of the country at any time to the almost-as-terrifying possibility that she might be the only one of her friends without a date to the prom. This moving, often hilarious story is for anyone who has ever shared either fear.

FEATURED ON NPR'S FRESH AIR!

FOUR STARRED REVIEWS!

“A must-read, vitally important memoir. . . . Poignant and often LOL funny, Americanized is utterly of the moment.”—Bustle
 
“Read Saedi’s memoir to push out the poison.”—Teen Vogue
 
“A funny, poignant must read for the times we are living in today.”—Pop Sugar


Podrobnosti

Autor Sara Saedi
Vydavateľ Alfred A. Knopf
Jazyk anglický
Väzbamäkká
Počet strán280
Formát139 x 208 mm
EAN9780525578451
Rok vydania2018
Edícia Súčasná beletria

Autor

Sara Saedi

Podobné knihy

The Last Day

The Last Day

Andrew Hunter Murray
11,50 €
Na sklade
The Wing Reader

The Wing Reader

Brooke Smith
16,50 €
Momentálne nedostupné
Wizard and Glass, The Dark Tower 4

Wizard and Glass, The Dark Tower 4

Stephen King
9,99 €
Momentálne nedostupné
Black Milk

Black Milk

Elif Shafak
11,95 €
máj 2017 (predobjednávka)
The Fck-it List

The Fck-it List

John Niven
17,50 €
Momentálne nedostupné
A Beautifully Foolish Endeavor

A Beautifully Foolish Endeavor

Hank Green
17,50 €
Na sklade

Názory čitateľov

Zadajte Váš email
a my Vám budeme zasielať informácie o novinkách a akciách
Generuje redakčný systém BUXUS CMS spoločnosti ui42
X
Nákupný košík
V jednej objednávke nie je možné súčasne kombinovať predobjednávkové a bežné produkty.
Z tohto produktu nie je možné objednať požadovaný počet kusov. Znížte prosím počet kusov.
Tento produkt je momentálne nedostupný.
Produkt bol pridaný do košíka
Produkt bol pridaný do zoznamu vašich rezervácií
Nastal problém pri vkladaní do košíka. Kontaktujte nás prosím.
Dopravu máte zadarmo!
Nakúpte ešte za a dopravu máte zadarmo!