Aktivita
Girl At War

Girl At War


11,50 €
Na objednávku

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY "BOOKPAGE, ""BOOKLIST, "AND" ELECTRIC LITERATURE" ALEX AWARD WINNER "LOS ANGELES TIMES "BOOK PRIZE FINALIST LONGLISTED FOR THE BAILEYS WOMEN S PRIZE FOR FICTION
For readers of "The Tiger s Wife "and "All the Light We Cannot See" comes a powerful debut novel about a girl s coming of age and how her sense of family, friendship, love, and belonging is profoundly shaped by war.
Zagreb, 1991. Ana Juri is a carefree ten-year-old, living with her family in a small apartment in Croatia s capital. But that year, civil war breaks out across Yugoslavia, splintering Ana s idyllic childhood. Daily life is altered by food rations and air raid drills, and soccer matches are replaced by sniper fire. Neighbors grow suspicious of one another, and Ana s sense of safety starts to fray. When the war arrives at her doorstep, Ana must find her way in a dangerous world.
New York, 2001. Ana is now a college student in Manhattan. Though she s tried to move on from her past, she can t escape her memories of war secrets she keeps even from those closest to her. Haunted by the events that forever changed her family, Ana returns to Croatia after a decade away, hoping to make peace with the place she once called home. As she faces her ghosts, she must come to terms with her country s difficult history and the events that interrupted her childhood years before.
Moving back and forth through time, "Girl at War "is an honest, generous, brilliantly written novel that illuminates how history shapes the individual. Sara Novi fearlessly shows the impact of war on one young girl and its legacy on all of us. It s a debut by a writer who has stared into recent history to find a story that continues to resonate today.


Podrobnosti

Autor Sara Novic
Vydavateľ Random House Books
Jazyk anglický
Väzbamäkká
Počet strán368
Formát13.2 x 20.3 cm
EAN9780812986396
Rok vydania2016
Edícia Súčasná beletria

Autor

Sara Novic

Ďalšie knihy autora z oddelenia Knihy v angličtine

Girl At War

Girl At War

Sara Novic
11,50 €
Na objednávku

Podobné knihy

Pigeon English

Pigeon English

Stephen Kelman
12,99 €
Na objednávku
The Five

The Five

Hallie Rubenhold
11,50 €
Na objednávku
The Sting

The Sting

Kimberley Chambers
16,95 €
Na sklade
A Hero in France

A Hero in France

Alan Furst
12,50 €
Na objednávku
Three Amazing Things About You

Three Amazing Things About You

Jill Mansell
11,50 €
Na objednávku
Chaos

Chaos

Tom O'Neill, Dan Piepenbring
16,50 €
Dodanie do 21 dní

Názory čitateľov

Zadajte Váš email
a my Vám budeme zasielať informácie o novinkách a akciách
Generuje redakčný systém BUXUS CMS spoločnosti ui42
X
Nákupný košík
V jednej objednávke nie je možné súčasne kombinovať predobjednávkové a bežné produkty.
Z tohto produktu nie je možné objednať požadovaný počet kusov. Znížte prosím počet kusov.
Tento produkt je momentálne nedostupný.
Produkt bol pridaný do košíka
Produkt bol pridaný do zoznamu vašich rezervácií
Nastal problém pri vkladaní do košíka. Kontaktujte nás prosím.
Dopravu máte zadarmo!
Nakúpte ešte za a dopravu máte zadarmo!