Aktivita
The Daughters of Madurai

The Daughters of Madurai

The heart-wrenching, thought-provoking book club debut of 2023

19,95 €
Na objednávku

'A captivating and riveting debut from an unforgettable new voice' LOUISE O'NEILL

'A haunting, powerful novel' THRITY UMRIGAR

ONE OF COSMOPOLITAN'S BEST BOOK TO LOOK FORWARD TO IN 2023

***

'A girl is a burden. A girl is a curse.'

Madurai, 1992.
A young mother in a poor family, Janani is told she is useless if she can't produce a son - or worse, bears daughters. They let her keep her first baby girl, but the rest are taken away as soon as they are born - murdered before they have a chance to live.

The fate of her children has never been in her hands. But Janani can't forget the daughters she was never allowed to love.

Sydney, 2019. Nila has a secret, one she's been keeping from her parents for far too long.

Before she can say anything, her grandfather in India falls ill and she agrees to join her parents on a trip to Madurai - the first in over ten years. Growing up in Australia, Nila knows very little about where she or her family came from, or who they left behind. What she's about to learn will change her forever...

Perfect for fans of Christy Lefteri and Delia Owens, The Daughters of Madurai is a moving and powerful debut from an unforgettable new voice.

Readers are loving The Daughters of Madurai!



'This is one of those books that will stay with me for years and decades to come...'

'Absolutely beautiful.

Brilliantly constructed characters that do the critical topic the book focuses on justice'

'Wow what an emotional rollercoaster! This book gripped me with its poignant story and I sobbed multiple times'

'A heart wrenching and moving story that I could not put down until I got to the end'

'A definite must read'

'The pace, the dialogue, the tension between the characters, all are totally credible. It is such a beautifully written novel that, despite the difficult subject matter, it was a joy to read'

'This complex mother-daughter story grabbed my heart and wouldn't let go!'


Podrobnosti

Autor Rajasree Variyar
Vydavateľ Orion
Jazyk anglický
VäzbaPaperback
Formát234 x 153
Hmotnosť41
EAN9781398707276
Rok vydania2023
Edícia Súčasná beletria

Autor

Rajasree Variyar

Podobné knihy

The Capital

The Capital

Robert Menasse
11,95 €
Na sklade
The Boy from the Woods

The Boy from the Woods

Harlan Coben
10,50 €
Na objednávku
Grimm Tales

Grimm Tales

Philip Pullman
24,50 €
Dodanie do 21 dní
Burn

Burn

Nick Brownlee
8,95 €
Na objednávku
The Bookshop Book

The Bookshop Book

Jen Campbell
12,95 €
Dodanie do 21 dní
Maggie Moves On

Maggie Moves On

Lucy Score
12,95 €
Na sklade

Názory čitateľov

Zadajte Váš email
a my Vám budeme zasielať informácie o novinkách a akciách
Generuje redakčný systém BUXUS CMS spoločnosti ui42
X
Nákupný košík
V jednej objednávke nie je možné súčasne kombinovať predobjednávkové a bežné produkty.
Z tohto produktu nie je možné objednať požadovaný počet kusov. Znížte prosím počet kusov.
Tento produkt je momentálne nedostupný.
Produkt bol pridaný do košíka
Produkt bol pridaný do zoznamu vašich rezervácií
Nastal problém pri vkladaní do košíka. Kontaktujte nás prosím.
Dopravu máte zadarmo!
Nakúpte ešte za a dopravu máte zadarmo!