Aktivita
The Smell of Other Peoples Houses

The Smell of Other Peoples Houses


10,95 €
Momentálne nedostupné

"Bonnie-Sue Hitchcock's Alaska is beautiful and wholly unfamiliar.... A thrilling, arresting debut." --Gayle Forman, New York Times bestselling author of If I Stay and I Was Here

"[A] singular debut. . . . [Hitchcock] weav[es] the alternating voices of four young people into a seamless and continually surprising story of risk, love, redemption, catastrophe, and sacrifice." --The Wall Street Journal

This deeply moving and authentic debut set in 1970s Alaska is for fans of Rainbow Rowell, Louise Erdrich, Sherman Alexie, and Benjamin Alire Saenz. Intertwining stories of love, tragedy, wild luck, and salvation on the edge of America's Last Frontier introduce a writer of rare talent.

Ruth has a secret that she can't hide forever. Dora wonders if she can ever truly escape where she comes from, even when good luck strikes. Alyce is trying to reconcile her desire to dance, with the life she's always known on her family's fishing boat. Hank and his brothers decide it's safer to run away than to stay home--until one of them ends up in terrible danger.

Four very different lives are about to become entangled. This unforgettable William C. Morris Award finalist is about people who try to save each other--and how sometimes, when they least expect it, they succeed. 

Praise: 
William C. Morris Finalist
Shortlisted for the Carnegie Medal
Amelia Elizabeth Walden Book Award for Young Adult Fiction
Tayshas Reading List--Top 10 List
New York Public Library's Best 50 Books for Teens 
Chicago Public Library, Best of the Best List
Shelf Awareness, Best Children's & Teen Books of the Year
Nominated to the Oklahoma Sequoya Book Award Master List 
Nominated to the Colorado Blue Spruce Young Adult Book Award

"Hitchcock's debut resonates with the timeless quality of a classic. This is a fascinating character study--a poetic interweaving of rural isolation and coming-of-age." --John Corey Whaley, award-winning author of Where Things Come Back and Highly Illogical Behavior

"As an Alaskan herself, Bonnie Sue Hitchcock is able to bring alive this town, and this group of poor teens and their families that live there." --Bustle.com


Podrobnosti

Autor Bonnie-Sue Hitchcock
Vydavateľ Ember
Jazyk anglický
Väzbamäkká
Počet strán230
Formát14 x 21 cm
EAN9780553497816
Rok vydania2017
Edícia Beletria pre deti a mládež

Autor

Bonnie-Sue Hitchcock

Ďalšie knihy autora z oddelenia Knihy v angličtine

Everyone Dies Famous in a Small Town

Everyone Dies Famous in a Small Town

Bonnie-Sue Hitchcock
11,95 €
Momentálne nedostupné

Podobné knihy

The Beautiful Struggle

The Beautiful Struggle

Ta-Nehisi Coates
11,50 €
Na sklade
Dumplin

Dumplin

Julie Murphy
9,50 €
Momentálne nedostupné
The Kingdom of Back

The Kingdom of Back

Marie Lu
12,50 €
2 Mar 2021 (predobjednávka)
Fragments of the Lost

Fragments of the Lost

Megan Miranda
9,95 €
Momentálne nedostupné
Crystal Kingdom

Crystal Kingdom

Amanda Hocking
8,95 €
Momentálne nedostupné
The Girl Who Came Out of the Woods

The Girl Who Came Out of the Woods

Emily Barr
10,50 €
Na sklade

Názory čitateľov

Zadajte Váš email
a my Vám budeme zasielať informácie o novinkách a akciách
Generuje redakčný systém BUXUS CMS spoločnosti ui42
X
Nákupný košík
V jednej objednávke nie je možné súčasne kombinovať predobjednávkové a bežné produkty.
Z tohto produktu nie je možné objednať požadovaný počet kusov. Znížte prosím počet kusov.
Tento produkt je momentálne nedostupný.
Produkt bol pridaný do košíka
Produkt bol pridaný do zoznamu vašich rezervácií
Nastal problém pri vkladaní do košíka. Kontaktujte nás prosím.
Dopravu máte zadarmo!
Nakúpte ešte za a dopravu máte zadarmo!