Aktivita
When Women Were Dragons

When Women Were Dragons


12,95 €
Na sklade

'A soaring coming-of-age novel.'- THE OBSERVER'Completely fierce, unmistakably feminist, and subversively funny. When Women Were Dragons brings the heat to misogyny with glorious imagination and talon-sharp prose.'- Bonnie Garmus, author of LESSONS IN CHEMISTRYIn a world where girls and women are taught to be quiet, the dragons inside them are about to be set free ... In this timely and timeless speculative novel, set in 1950s America, Kelly Barnhill exposes a world that wants to keep girls and women small - and examines what happens when they rise up.

Alex Green is four years old when she first sees a dragon in her next-door neighbour's garden, in the spot where the old lady usually sits. The huge dragon, an astonished expression on its face, opens its wings and soars away across the rooftops. And Alex doesn't see the little old lady after that.

No one mentions her. It's as if she's never existed. Then Alex's mother disappears, and reappears a week later, with no explanation as to where she has been.

But she is a ghostly shadow of her former self, and with scars across her body - wide, deep burns, as though she had been attacked by a monster who breathed fire. Alex, growing from young girl to fiercely independent teenager, is desperate for answers, but doesn't get any. Whether anyone likes it or not, the Mass Dragoning is coming.

Everything is about to change, forever. And when it does, this, too, will be unmentionable ... Perfect for fans of THE HANDMAID'S TALE, VOX, and THE POWER.


Podrobnosti

Autor Kelly Barnhill
Vydavateľ Hot Key Books
Jazyk anglický
VäzbaPaperback
Počet strán352
Formát198 x 129
EAN9781471412226
Rok vydania2023
Edícia Fantasy a science fiction

Autor

Kelly Barnhill

Ďalšie knihy autora z oddelenia Knihy v angličtine

The Witch's Boy

The Witch's Boy

Kelly Barnhill
10,50 €
Na objednávku
The Ogress and the Orphans

The Ogress and the Orphans

Kelly Barnhill
10,50 €
Na sklade
The Witch's Boy

The Witch's Boy

Kelly Barnhill
0,00 €
Vypredané
Girl Who Drank the Moon

Girl Who Drank the Moon

Kelly Barnhill
10,50 €
Na objednávku

Podobné knihy

The Stickleback Catchers

The Stickleback Catchers

Lisette Auton
10,95 €
Na sklade
The Waters Daughter

The Waters Daughter

Michelle Lovric
9,95 €
Na objednávku
The Hills Have Spies

The Hills Have Spies

Mercedes Lackey
12,50 €
Na sklade
The Time Machine

The Time Machine

H. G. Wells
3,95 €
Dodanie do 21 dní
All of Us Villains

All of Us Villains

Christine Herman, Amanda Foody
12,95 €
Na sklade
A Wrinkle in Time

A Wrinkle in Time

Madeleine L'Engle
12,50 €
Na sklade

Názory čitateľov

Zadajte Váš email
a my Vám budeme zasielať informácie o novinkách a akciách
Generuje redakčný systém BUXUS CMS spoločnosti ui42
X
Nákupný košík
V jednej objednávke nie je možné súčasne kombinovať predobjednávkové a bežné produkty.
Z tohto produktu nie je možné objednať požadovaný počet kusov. Znížte prosím počet kusov.
Tento produkt je momentálne nedostupný.
Produkt bol pridaný do košíka
Produkt bol pridaný do zoznamu vašich rezervácií
Nastal problém pri vkladaní do košíka. Kontaktujte nás prosím.
Dopravu máte zadarmo!
Nakúpte ešte za a dopravu máte zadarmo!