Aktivita
Material World

Material World

A Substantial Story of Our Past and Future

14,95 €
4 Jul 2024 (predobjednávka)

A bold new story of human progress, told through six materials that built our world and will transform our future. For fans of Tim Marshall, Lewis Dartnell, Jared Diamond and Yuval Harari. THE TIMES SCIENCE BOOK OF THE YEAR**Shortlisted for the Financial Times Business Book of the Year Award**Picked as a Book of the Year by FINANCIAL TIMES, ECONOMIST and NEW STATESMANA BBC RADIO 4 Book of the Week'A compelling narrative of the human story' TIM MARSHALL, author of Prisoners of Geography'Lively, rich and exciting...

full of surprises' PETER FRANKOPAN, author of The Silk Roads_____________Sand, salt, iron, copper, oil and lithium. They built our world, and they will transform our future. These are the six most crucial substances in human history.

They took us from the Dark Ages to the present day. They power our computers and phones, build our homes and offices, and create life-saving medicines. But most of us take them completely for granted.

In Material World, Ed Conway travels the globe - from the sweltering depths of the deepest mine in Europe, to spotless silicon chip factories in Taiwan, to the eerie green pools where lithium originates - to uncover a secret world we rarely see. Revealing the true marvel of these substances, he follows the mind-boggling journeys, miraculous processes and little-known companies that turn the raw materials we all need into products of astonishing complexity. As we wrestle with climate change, energy crises and the threat of new global conflict, Conway shows why these substances matter more than ever before, and how the hidden battle to control them will shape our geopolitical future.

This is the story of civilisation - our ambitions and glory, innovations and appetites - from a new perspective- literally from the ground up.


Podrobnosti

Autor Ed Conway
Vydavateľ WH Allen
Jazyk anglický
VäzbaPaperback / softback
Počet strán512
Formát198 x 126
EAN9780753559178
Rok vydania2024
Edícia Ekonomika, manažment, motivácia
História

Autor

Ed Conway

Ďalšie knihy autora z oddelenia Knihy v angličtine

Material World

Material World

Ed Conway
21,95 €
Na objednávku

Podobné knihy

The New York Times Complete World War II

The New York Times Complete World War II

Richard Overy, Tom Brokaw
22,50 €
Na objednávku
A Man on the Moon

A Man on the Moon

Andrew Chaikin
15,50 €
13.06.2019 (predobjednávka)
Reckoning

Reckoning

Mary L Trump
18,95 €
Na sklade
Revolt

Revolt

Nadav Eyal
19,95 €
Na objednávku
We Need to Talk About Inflation

We Need to Talk About Inflation

Stephen D. King
24,95 €
Na sklade

Názory čitateľov

Zadajte Váš email
a my Vám budeme zasielať informácie o novinkách a akciách
Generuje redakčný systém BUXUS CMS spoločnosti ui42
X
Nákupný košík
V jednej objednávke nie je možné súčasne kombinovať predobjednávkové a bežné produkty.
Z tohto produktu nie je možné objednať požadovaný počet kusov. Znížte prosím počet kusov.
Tento produkt je momentálne nedostupný.
Produkt bol pridaný do košíka
Produkt bol pridaný do zoznamu vašich rezervácií
Nastal problém pri vkladaní do košíka. Kontaktujte nás prosím.
Dopravu máte zadarmo!
Nakúpte ešte za a dopravu máte zadarmo!