Aktivita
Horizons

Horizons


18,50 €
Momentálne nedostupné

A radical retelling of the history of science that challenges the Eurocentric narrative.

We are told that modern science was invented in Europe, the product of great minds like Nicolaus Copernicus, Isaac Newton, Charles Darwin and Albert Einstein. But this is wrong. The history of science is not, and has never been, a uniquely European endeavour.

Copernicus relied on mathematical techniques borrowed from Arabic and Persian texts.

When Newton set out the laws of motion, he relied on astronomical observations made in India and Africa. When Darwin was writing On the Origin of Species, he consulted a sixteenth-century Chinese encyclopaedia. And when Einstein was studying quantum mechanics, he was inspired by the young Bengali physicist, Satyendra Nath Bose.

Horizons pushes the history of science beyond Europe, exploring the ways in which scientists from Africa, America, Asia and the Pacific fit into this global story.

Scientists today are quick to recognise the international nature of their work. In this ambitious and revisionist history, James Poskett reveals that this tradition goes back much further than we think.

Perfect reading for fans of Peter Frankopan's The Silk Roads and Bettany Hughes's Istanbul.


Podrobnosti

Autor James Poskett
Vydavateľ Penguin Books Ltd
Jazyk anglický
VäzbaPaperback
Počet strán368
Formát234 x 153
EAN9780241394106
Rok vydania2021
Edícia História

Autor

James Poskett

Podobné knihy

Battle for Syria: International Rivalry in the New Middle East

Battle for Syria: International Rivalry in the New Middle East

Christopher Phillips
17,95 €
Momentálne nedostupné
Papyrus

Papyrus

Irene Vallejo
21,50 €
Momentálne nedostupné
Austerity: Vintage Minis

Austerity: Vintage Minis

Yanis Varoufakis
3,95 €
Momentálne nedostupné
Hit Makers

Hit Makers

Derek Thompson
25,95 €
Momentálne nedostupné
The Bookseller of Florence

The Bookseller of Florence

Ross King
14,95 €
Momentálne nedostupné
Global Discontents

Global Discontents

Noam Chomsky, David Barsamian
11,50 €
Na sklade

Názory čitateľov

Zadajte Váš email
a my Vám budeme zasielať informácie o novinkách a akciách
Generuje redakčný systém BUXUS CMS spoločnosti ui42
X
Nákupný košík
V jednej objednávke nie je možné súčasne kombinovať predobjednávkové a bežné produkty.
Z tohto produktu nie je možné objednať požadovaný počet kusov. Znížte prosím počet kusov.
Tento produkt je momentálne nedostupný.
Produkt bol pridaný do košíka
Produkt bol pridaný do zoznamu vašich rezervácií
Nastal problém pri vkladaní do košíka. Kontaktujte nás prosím.
Dopravu máte zadarmo!
Nakúpte ešte za a dopravu máte zadarmo!